3 degrees of separation to Dean Shareski

I trace myself back to Dean Shareski through my former Vice Principal, Brian Harrison.  In a recent post, Dean assigned the following piece of homework for a few of the bloggers he follows.  Here is the post.

Brian nominated me to share a bit about myself by telling 11 random things about me, and to answer some questions.  Here are some things you may not know about me.

  1. Telling people about the stuff I do is rather difficult for me.
  2. To help pay my way through university I worked in the mail room of an insurance agency by day and was a DJ at night.
  3. My wife was also my girlfriend in high school.
  4. I like going through the process of reinventing the wheel.
  5. For 3 months I lived in Trinidad & Tobago.
  6. Gemini
  7. I train in Goju-Ryu Karate – Meibukan – and am currently a 3rd degree blackbelt.
  8. John Stockton is my favourite basketball player.
  9. If my dad had his way I would have been named:  Giovanni.
  10. Learning a lot in my new role as a math coach – both as teacher and coach –  and I have my amazing colleagues to thank for this.
  11. Love it when my 5 y.o. or 3 y.o. son call for me when they wake-up in the middle of the night. I typically go running to them.

Here are the questions Brian posed to me:

  1. Who is your favourite superhero?  Spider-Man. He isn’t the strongest hero but with ingenuity and smarts, he gets the job done.
  2. What is the most interesting place you have visited? Philippines
  3. IOS or Android?  IOS
  4. Would you rather be a hammer or a nail-Why? Tough one… Hammer.  Potential for usefulness of nail remains after hammer has left. Hammer has at least 2 uses to it.
  5. What was your first part time job? Record Store clerk – yes vinyl records.
  6. Left on a desert island, what 3 books do you take with you? Musashi, Photo Album, and Surviving Deserted Islands for Dummies.
  7. When do you usually write your blog posts? Whenever I get the inspiration.  During the week and then I try to post on the weekend (a little late with this one).
  8. Pizza- thin crust or regular?  Deep Dish – Giordano’s Pizza in Chicago
  9. What was the topic of your first blog post? Basically I am nervous about blogging and I have Dean Shareski and Brian Harrison to thank for it.
  10. Did you ever own an 8-Track cassette? No.
  11. Lennon or McCartney? McCartney

If you want to play along too, then I have some prompts for you to respond to.  But please share 11 things about yourself first.  Looking forward to your responses.

  1. Who is the better Captain:  Jean Luc Picard or Han Solo?
  2. Where in the world would you like most to visit?
  3. Your “go-to” dish to cook when trying to impress someone.
  4. Coffee, tea, or hot chocolate?
  5. What is your funniest ‘teaching’ memory?
  6. The last book you read was…
  7. What was your first part-time job (borrowing from Brian)?
  8. Favourite Seinfeld quote?
  9. Do you have a nickname and can you share it?
  10. Eggs over easy or scrambled?
  11. What is your favourite web tool or app?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 3 degrees of separation to Dean Shareski

  1. dshareski says:

    Awesome. Thanks for playing Paul. Some great responses here. Love your last random fact.

  2. Love your response to Q 4- I am assuming that use number two for a hammer ‘rescue club’ right?

  3. Pingback: Bringing Back Joy | Learning About Learning

Leave a Reply

